Judgy McJudgerson the Judge

To be honest, I wanted to write a series of posts that would appear weekly on your dash about several television shows I really, really, really hate. Then I thought about people who like those shows and how they’d react to someone dissing their favorite characters and the situations they have to go through. How would they judge me? (There goes one of my New Years resolutions…)

Isn’t it interesting? The whole judging thing?

We’re always told not to judge a book by its cover; Christians (I don’t know about other religions, if someone could give me any information about this, that would be fantastic) are taught that the only being who can judge a person is God themself. So why don’t we try to live like this? Why do we constantly judge people around us?

I’ve caught myself so many times judging another person, that automatically, I now tell myself, “Hey, it’s their decision, I am not in their shoes.” Afterwards, I feel kinda bad. Even if it is something that might be natural or innate to do.

But what is it that causes us to judge another person? A lack of self-confidence? Second-hand embarrassment? An evil personality trait inherited from our great-great-great-great cousin twice removed on our maternal grandmother’s great aunt’s side of the family?

So how do you react when you catch yourself judging someone else? What causes it? How do you feel afterwards?

Leave a Reply

