On Creating A GoFundMe Campaign

One of the things I dislike doing is asking for money. It makes me uncomfortable. My parents would probably disagree, but it’s true.

So deciding to create a GoFundMe campaign (found here, 😉😉) was/is nerve-wracking – I am literally asking people I know as well as people I don’t know to give me money. Aren’t I supposed to be a capable adult by now? Shouldn’t I be able to afford this trip myself? Why would anyone give me money?

It’s for a good cause, I swear! I get to see at least one person who I am close to; hopefully I can guilt some others to show up… Even if it’s not precisely for New Years – let’s face, tomorrow is New Years Eve. I probably have a better chance to go on the weekend, in like, two weeks or something, but it’s worth a shot!

Yet instead of being absolutely negative about it (I’m a pessimist disguised as an optimist, okay), I’ve decided to look at it like this: while the general idea behind my first campaign is pretty goofy and cheesy, it could actually help me fund my way through college.

Do you know how much anxiety and stress I’ve built up over the past month thinking about paying for college? I think I have grey hairs. Grey. Hairs. But I’ve known that at some point in my life, I’d have to rely on something and someone other than the savings account my parents set up years ago to be able to continue my higher education. And the FAFSA? Gonna apply for it every year, probably still only be offered loans.

This is actually a huge relief. I’ve learned in the past few hours alone that there’s more than one way to afford to college. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Scholarships are the pinnacle you aim for, but don’t think they’re the only way to better your life through education.

I feel so… light… so free… Maybe I don’t have to take out that loan quite yet…

Also, for all of you who read my blog and are friends with me on Facebook, I’ve decided to relink to my Facebook account. Don’t make me regret this.

Leave a Reply

