I Love All Fairly

Just a quick shout out to all the new people who liked Black Mamba of the Sea enough to want to follow me! Thanks, guys, I learned a valuable lesson and that’s to put baby animals in my posts!

Now onto the real topic of discussion I’ve chosen today.

If you picked up on a tiny Jesus vibe with that title, that’s what I was going with. And surprisingly, this isn’t about people. I’ve made a lot of attempts to make a good post about appreciating and loving every body out there, whether they’re straight, gay, transsexual, from any number of countries around the world, their religious views, and their political views. But, I can’t help it and feel like I’m sticking my nose in something I shouldn’t or that I’m going to get a lot of flak for it. I’ve been raised to keep my opinions to myself, and I think that really harms my potential.

No, this isn’t about people. It’s about animals. Specifically, the issues that people seem to have with pets, and whether or not they’re purebred or they’re rescue animals. I understand why someone would want to adopt a dog or cat, or maybe a horse, from a rescue center: because those animals need a home. They need love. They need someone to care about them in a way no one else has before.

What I don’t understand is why some people think it’s okay to knock others for wanting to buy a “purebred” or saying that they’ll only adopt a rescue animal. That isn’t fair! Why should rescue animals be placed high and mighty above a purebred? Okay, don’t answer that; it generally has to do with neglect and abuse.

But really, people! Just because this dog is a purebred doesn’t mean that it’s evil or something. For all you know, that dog is going to a home that’s horrible. For all you know, that dog came from a horrible environment (hence why you should always go to the breeder’s home, so you know). Purebreds deserve a chance, too. Yeah, they’re typically expensive, but when you find the right one for you, you’re going to have a very happy life together!

And what about when you go into an adoption center? What if you find the perfect dog, that was rescued from an abusive home? And what if later on that dog, who mistakenly thought you were trying to harm it, did something horrible? Like bite you? Can you really say that you aren’t worried about that when you walk into a humane society?

I’m not saying don’t adopt or to go buy a $500+ dog. I’m saying, each one has its pros and cons. I’d love to adopt/rescue a dog. I’d love to help rehabilitate a dog, specifically a pit bull. I’d definitely adopt a cat. I’d consider buying a purebred cat, but it’d gonna have to be a pretty smart cat breed. I’m going to buy purebred dogs in the future; I don’t know about you, but I’ve yet to see any Irish Wolfhounds in need of adoption. In fact, my dog, Sadie, a Pembroke Welsh Corgi, is a purebred AKC registered dog. Our cat, Holly, was adopted from the Oregon Humane Society. They’re wonderful animals and we all love them very much.

At the end of the day, though, does it really matter if one’s adopted or one’s a purebred, bought from a breeder? As long as we love them and cherish them when they’re with us, a pet is a good thing to have in one’s life. Give an animal a chance, anyway you obtain it (as long as it’s legal) and make sure to spay/neuter your pets, as well as to make sure they’re properly licensed. Our pets deserve to be happy and healthy, whether they’re adopted or not.

4 thoughts on “I Love All Fairly

  1. You’re the second person I know today who’s written about pets. It must be a sign….. of what I’m not sure, but I’m taking it as a sign!
    I completely agree with you about the whole adoption vs. purebred thing. I’ve never had any pets (aside from fish) so I don’t know too much about the conversation that revolves around them but I’ve definitely heard of people turning up their noses at people who buy purebreds and vice versa. I just never really got it. However you obtain your pet, at the end of the day, you’re bringing a pet to live with you and that should be enough. Why does it need to get so complicated about “where” the pet came from? Glad you posted about this topic.

    • Oooh, signs! Signs are fun! Make sure to take it in a good way!

      I have no idea, but some people just get too high and mighty about things and I want to knock them down a spot — in this case, someone who said they’d only EVER adopt/rescue. I’m not trying to sound like I have to make them feel bad about their choices, but I just want them to realize that it REALLY doesn’t matter, as long as your animals have a good home and are taken care of.

  2. Well said! Personally, when I think of adopting, it’s not against purebreds, but against stores that promote the use of puppy mills. Because you’re right, all animals deserve to be loved and cherished. I just think that we all need to stand together and not allow puppy mills to continue!

    Great message. And people definitely need to be reminded about spaying and neutering! There are too many animals without a home, let’s not add to that problem.

    • Oh yes, puppy mills are horrible. But any of those that get busted, the animals go to a rescue center, right? And I personally hate going into pet shops because I feel bad for the puppies. 😦

      People really should be listening to their humane societies! I know the one in Portland held a thing for spaying and neutering every year. Obviously, some people aren’t going to spay and neuter, but we can only hope that those pups/kittens are properly taken care of.

Leave a Reply

