A New Subject in the World of Young Adult Literature — Again

I’m so weird, I log onto Goodreads, find the upcoming books of the next year, and write down all of the ones that seriously interest me. These could be anywhere from epic fantasy novels (okay, some aren’t epic, just incredible), while others are those fluffy, girly books that are all “I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU BUT WE CAN’T BE TOGETHER AND THERE’S NO MAGIC OR SWORDS IN THIS BOOK.” I’m a sucker, okay.

When I first did this, in early 2011, I noticed something: there’s a large trend of mermaid inspired books. Alright, mermaids have been around for quite a while, and they’re so much better than the vampire train. I can go with mermaids. In fact, I read two of the books that are on my list: Lost Voices by Sarah Porter and Siren by Tricia Rayburn. I have the rest of the Siren series in a tote (I need more bookshelves!) and the second Lost Voices somewhere, too. I highly enjoyed them both, and can’t wait to continue the series.

But, that’s besides the point. I’ve noticed a new trend, since I’m doing the list again. I’m not particularly sure where the hell it came from, but it came from somewhere. I mean, it’s in our everyday media, sure, but to write entire novels about it? Especially YA? I’m pretty confused by what’s happening. This new subject is…

Reapers.

As in, grim reapers. As in, Death comes knocking at your door to take your soul. I don’t even understand. I mean, I guess it’s mostly about becoming one and dealing with it, but, it just doesn’t make sense to me. I suppose I’ll have to find one and read it. Hopefully there’s no romance, because I’m a bit spent on the romance train. I have passed up so many books, simply because “She has to choose between…”. It’s like, no. We don’t need any more of this crap. Or at least make it interesting. Or make her crazy. Or something. Come on, no more of this. I’m good with falling in love with one person. (Or can we get one where they combine the two love interests genetically and see what happens?)

So, yeah, reapers. We’ll see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

