California, Worrisome Circumstances, and Apocalypses

As you know, I was in California for a little while. As in a week. As in longer than I intended to stay. As in, night shifts really frickin’ suck. My friend had night shifts, which meant he was super tired, and because we met halfway, I needed him to drive me for four hours. We did see a little bit of San Francisco, but we were both a little unsure of what to go see and do. Or we’re just lazy and didn’t want to look it up online. I did get to see from a pier the infamous island of Alcatraz. That is probably one of the single most exciting things I have ever seen in my life. I don’t know why, Alcatraz is just cool like that. I also saw a semi-truck with a bumper sticker pointing the right that read “Suicide”. Another “I don’t know why but…”. It made me giggle. Which is always a good thing, don’t you think?

I’ve also been under a ton of stress, just because everything has to happen that way. Which means that I’ve been clenching my teeth. When I noticed I was gritting my teeth (during which I was reading a part in A Storm of Swords which included Joffrey Lannister), I eased my grip, and Oh. My. Goodness. It was as if someone stabbed me in the mouth again. The molars on the right side of my mouth are sensitive, but not as much as they were. I could barely chew, that’s how bad it was.

Now for Apocalypses… Because I’m incredibly good at being ADD and jumping from story to story, especially when bored, I’ve started a new one! Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay! Actually, the thing is that I was on GoodReads and looking through lists to find potential books to read, and I noticed something. Now, I don’t know if it’s because I just spent a week with a gay guy, I interact with quite a few men who have no interest in the female species (men are a species, too; one day, I will discuss this. And take it with a large dose of humour), or because I am so frickin’ tired of silly romances, but something truly irked me: there are, like, NO homosexual main characters out there. I’ve read one YA fiction where the main character was homosexual. One. Am I missing something? Or do I have to go find mature stories to deal with this. I don’t want to read the nitty-gritty icky stuff, I just want to read a nice, polite novel where the main character is gay. Is that so much to ask?

This feeling of desire for something other than girl/guy romance has led to my newest character, Nikolai Elliot James. He lives in New Chicago, a city built over a bomb crater somewhere near the ruins of Albuquerque. So I’m doing three new things: writing a post apocalyptic tale, writing from a male perspective, and writing a gay character (that isn’t flamboyant like we see on the television (except for Max from Happy Endings. He’s not stereotypical.)) Wish me luck, because I just blundered into a world I have no idea where to even begin in. Perhaps I’ll post what I have at some point, we’ll see. I’m pushing it past my guildmates first.

As a side note: Nicole and Jason are both gone. Alana won this weeks and I believe Rod won the week before, but I don’t remember. Also, for anyone curious, MoP does come out in five days. Five. Pandas, here we come.

4 thoughts on “California, Worrisome Circumstances, and Apocalypses

  1. Glad you’re back, I missed your presence online! (That’s not creepy is it? Okay good.) Sorry to hear you’ve been under stress and teeth gritting is never fun….. hopefully it’s eased up a bit? And I agree with you on gay characters. There really are NO prominent gay characters in fiction these days. It’s pretty sad when I think about it. But of course you’ll change all of that with your story, won’t you? Of course you will. 😉

  2. Ouch with the teeth gritting. 😦

    You’re right, there aren’t many books with gay main characters…which is sad in this day and age. I think it’s the same with tv shows. I mean, there are gay characters, but no so many MAIN characters. Or maybe there are and I just don’t know about them.

    • Boo on stress, amirite?
      I’ve had that same idea… What if there’s entire underground of books and television shows that no one knows about (except for a few) that actually have a main gay character? Other than certain writings and ‘movies’, of course.

Leave a Reply

