Word(s) of the Day: The Essence of Excitement

  • Excite: to provoke; to awaken; to stir up the emotions of

One of my favorite things to do is look up words, and when I see that I have appropriately used that random word in a sentence, well, let’s just say I’m proud. I mentally pump my chest out in pride, because, hey, I’m good. I’m… excited. Excited, though a word we use in everyday life, is a good word. It’s a strong word. It has different connotations depending on the situation, and when I think about it, I can’t help but notice how… pernicious and angry it can sound. “He stirred their emotions; he excited them with the idea that the person who lives in the cottage in the woods was a wǣrloga. And it was blood they wanted.”

  • Pernicious: harmful; ruinous; evil
  • Wǣrloga: the word that warlock is based on; oath-breaker

Yep, these are some wonderful words, too. The idea that ‘warlock’, generally considered a male witch, comes from a word that means “oath-breaker” is pretty neat. I don’t know why, exactly, but it does.

Back to excitement. One of the things that has caused me a fair amount of emotional stirring up is the Project Imagina10n campaign. These photos are amazing. Check them out, and see if there’s one or two that provokes you! 😉 It definitely makes me want to rollick through fields and take some pretty gosh darn awesome pictures myself.

2 thoughts on “Word(s) of the Day: The Essence of Excitement

  1. I totally know what you mean about being able to appropriately use words the right way. I always get a bit of a thrill (I know, I just said thrill) when it happens, especially if I’m talking. Never mind what people around me might think when I’m using old-fashioned words like thrill…….

    • I love words! I think that’s why I enjoy writing so much. Writing is an art form, a beautiful, gorgeous art form made of beautiful, gorgeous words. It’s both in a visual form and an audio form! 🙂

Leave a Reply

