The Guardians of Ga’Hoole/Legend of the Guardians

I like reviewing stuff, especially movies. I’m that evil person you don’t go to see a book-based movie with because I’ve most likely read the book. Therefore, I will rip that son of a bitch apart until you say “OH. MY. GOD. SHUT THE HELL UP.” Except the Hunger Games. That was awesome. There were a few differences, but they were so little, I don’t really care.

At 3am this morning, I woke up, and due to certain circumstances, I’ve been sleeping downstairs on an air mattress. I flipped on the TV, just to, uh… “see what was on.” Truth be told, I used it as a light. Whatever was on, was on, I had more important things to care of. Because HBO has no commercials (I hate you, commercials), I like watching most of the movies and every once in a while there’s a good show (if I’m gonna watch True Blood, I’m reading the books first). And what was on at 3am? The Legend of the Guardians.

Being the age that I am, I read the first ten or so books a long time ago. Way before the movie even came out. I adored that series. Owls? Check. Awesome bad assery? Fuck yeah! (Sorry for the language) I’ve always loved owls, barn owls being my favorite. I don’t quite remember when I picked it up, but it was at a Scholastic Book Fair (Remember those? They were always awesome. Up till we moved and my brother entered the 6th grade, I could find a book at one).

Two years after the movie came out, I actually watched the movie. And since I haven’t read the books in forever, I can’t really compare the two, but I’ll rip it apart at some point. We’ll get there.

It was like I was teleported back to my childhood. Soren, Gylfie, Digger, Twilight. I remember trying my best to imagine these characters and the situations they were in. I loved the books, and I loved the movie, even though there were a few things I wasn’t too sure about. I also can’t help it that I’m all for a good action scene. And finally being able to see the characters visibly train and fight, after seeing it in my mind’s eye, was pretty cool.

But the tree. The goddamn tree. I remember trying my hardest to picture this huge tree in the middle of the sea, with all these different owls doing all of these different things… and really getting kind of nowhere. Then I watched the movie. The tree was gorgeous. Gorgeous, I tell you. I think what made it for me was the touches they had that seemed to exude Lord of the Rings. Did I go “This is cheesy. They totally stole that from the Lothlórien scene!”? No, I said “Duuuuuude, that looks like Elven craftsmanship. THAT’S AWESOME.”

I loved this movie. Loved it. I would totally watch it again, and I’m totally going to dig through my boxes of books to find the series and re-read them. And find the last few I need, and read those, too.

Stay tuned for next week, ’cause Face Off is starting. We’re gonna rip the contestants apart. This is gonna be fun…

Yes, I totally realize that this is the “I lied” meme, but I felt the face overall pretty much summed up my Muahaha moment.

Leave a Reply

