Word(s) of the Day And Some Other Stuff

We need more words in our vocabulary. Have I introduced you to my favorite word yet? Here it is:

  • Flabbergast: to overcome with surprise and bewilderment; astound.

Now here is my favorite word in a sentence: She was flabbergasted to learn that I enjoyed microwave popcorn cold.

Here’s another good F word:

  • Frustration: a feeling of dissatisfaction, often accompanied by anxiety or depression, resulting from unfulfilled needs or unresolved problems.

A sentence: I was full of frustration because I couldn’t express exactly how I felt about this certain topic.

And here’s three words that we may not use everyday, but we recognize.

  • Religion: a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, especially when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies, usually involving devotional and ritual observances, and often containing amoral code governing the conduct of human affairs.
  • Sect: any group, party, or faction united by a specific doctrine or under a doctrinal leader.
  • Cult: a group or sect bound together by veneration of the same thing, person, ideal, etc.; a particular system of religious worship, especially with reference to its rites and ceremonies; a group having a sacred ideology and a set of rites centering around their sacred symbols.

Here are some sentences: I dislike religion. I believe it is a mainstream cult. I wonder if every faith isn’t different, but just a sect of one main idea that each religion has changed and manifested to make it so radically different from each other one.

So. There’s a reason behind this. It’s about the shooting in Wisconsin at the Sikh temple. I… Don’t have a current affiliation with any religion or faith, since my spirituality has become something I need to think about and find about, but I know that I’ll hold Christian values that I was raised with, no matter what. Or maybe they’re my values. But I believe in tolerance and acceptance. So it’s saddening to read about people who have been killed because of something they believe in (I’m assuming. They’re now saying that the shooter, an ex-military man, may be a white supremacist), probably because some idiot thought that his way is the only way of thinking.

I would like to take a moment of silence for the people who were murdered. I would like to take a moment of silence for anyone who has been a victim, deceased and survivors alike, of a hate crime. A moment of silence for the people who have suffered for what they believe in, what they accept, what they support. A moment of silence for the people who are oppressed. A moment of silence, please, for the fact that in the United States, a country built on the idea to celebrate differences, we still have people who refuse to accept others, no matter what. Thank you.

5 thoughts on “Word(s) of the Day And Some Other Stuff

  1. These things seem to be happening more and more often…it’s so heart breaking. Your words are very true…I can’t believe how intolerant people are to this day. 😦 My thoughts and prayers go out to those people as well.

    • Thanks. It’s definitely a “Why oh why would anyone do this” situation, that’s for sure. I don’t quite understand what goes through peoples mind when they do stuff like this. The logic behind “Oh, you don’t believe what I believe? I hate you” is… not really logical, ya know?

  2. Agreed. You’d think that in the 21st century, people would start opening their eyes to the fact that regardless of what faiths and backgrounds we come from, we’re all human which means we’re all equal.

    • That’s what you’d think, but no. Of course not, why would that want to happen? I have no idea. It’s piss-poor manners, that’s what it is. I dunno. It’s hard to see this and NOT say “Wow, this happened? Really? In 20xx?”.

      And as a completely random side note observation, I totally just realized what your avatar is. I… wow, talk about slow.

Leave a Reply

