It’s Dangerous To Go Alone

I can’t speak for all of the blogger community, but I know for myself that I get ideas that I really, really, really, really (let’s see how many unnecessary words we can use), really want to talk about that get pushed aside. At one point, I wanted to talk about gardening and yoga. At one point, I wanted to talk about the hassle most of us experience by the name of “siblings.” But all these ideas get pushed aside by something else that’s a bit like “…uh huh, okay…” and not totally what I wanted to talk about. I push my previous ideas aside , thinking that I’ll just come back to them later. I’ll talk about them the next day. I’ve got everything I need to post written down in my handy-dandy notebook, I’ll come back to the idea. (Yes, I have a handy-dandy notebook that I write down potential ideas in. I’m anal like that.)

But that’s not the only thing holding me back from my blogging potential, I think. Part of me wants to make sure I please everyone else by not posting more serious topic ideas I’ve had. Yet what kind of person allows people she doesn’t even have to face to dictate what she feels should be said? A rather cowardly person I think. However, I think a lot of my fear of having my opinion ostracized by others stems from not only being shy and somehow getting the idea that if I stand up for something important, I’ll be pushed down (I was bullied once or twice in school; both my parents don’t understand how they raised two children that are introverts. I’m not sure why I’m shy, either), but also from the harshness anonymity seems to bring to the internet. I respect other people’s’ opinions, and I respect that they have the right to take issue with mine. But the way some people do it, it’s unfair to the person speaking their mind. “Oh, well, I think this.” “The only people who think that are!” or “You’re stupid for thinking that.”

Do you see what I mean? Now, you’d think the opportunity to be anonymous would allow me to feel like I can post whatever I want, but I still hold myself back. There’s too many people out there that seem to think that because they’re hidden behind a glowing screen, they’re allowed to use pixels and bytes to stamp on the toes of others.

So I’m going to try to stop holding myself back and really attempt to post something that I feel and know should be out circulating. Especially with the 4th of July coming up in two days. I’m sure everyone will enjoy it.

Here’s a cute owl in reference to the title. And here’s my opinion on owls: I love owls.

4 thoughts on “It’s Dangerous To Go Alone

  1. Trust me, you’re not the only one who thinks this. I regularly trash all the drafts I’ve started because I thought the topic was either too serious, too bland, too out there, or just too weird for people to get it. Which is stupid really, because who cares if other people don’t get it? Such are the conundrums we face as bloggers. By the way, just a small suggestion for your blog (which I’m enjoying btw!), is there any way to dim/watermark the background picture just a tad? It’d make reading rather easier on the eyes. 🙂

    • I would have replied a lot sooner but I fainted. I’m totally kidding. Maybe.
      And I know, right? I haven’t been blogging long, so maybe that’s part of it, but I feel that I have to try and control my creativity and my interests for other people. Talk about a nuisance.
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying this little bit of the blogosphere then! 🙂 And I’ll see what I can do about the background. I’m a wacko and love pictures like that. I may change the entire picture, or ruin the original with paint or something! I’m not a whiz with these things, but I sure do try.

      • I’m liking this new change to the background! A little dark for my own tastes but somehow it seems to work on here. And yes, the picture itself is fantastic. Makes me feel like I’m really standing in the middle of a starry-skied forest. 🙂

      • Haha, I know, but when you can’t change the font color… You have to change something else! I was sad to get rid of the colors, but the font color shows up better. Luckily I saved the picture as it was!

Leave a Reply

