Quick Fix Episode Guide: Game of Thrones and The Killing

At least once a week, millions of people turn on the television, grab family members if they’re there, and watch their preferred tv show. Sometimes, they’ll call others and they char about the show. “Did you see blah-blah-blah?!””OMG I did! Can you believe what happened?!”

Yup, sounds about right. My own family and I sit down most Sundays to watch Game of Thrones. Last year, when I first saw the season one trailer, I immediately ran and told my younger brother about it; swords, fighting, war, etc, etc, testosterone for guys. Almost immediately after that, I was on the local library website putting Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin on hold. Then, I think after we all sat down and watched the first episode of season one or so, my parents drove to Barnes and Nobles and bought all the Song of Ice and Fire books that have been thus far released. While my parents have literally gobbled up the books, I’m slowly, slowly making my way though book two, A Clash of Kings. So far, each episode I’ve watched of season two, I’ve flinched because I know I’m being stubborn and ruining the book for myself (I’m a stickler for watching shows/movies AFTER I’ve read the books).

Also on Sunday nights is the Danish-based television show The Killing on AMC. When the first season started last year, I had no intention whatsoever to watch it. My mother only watched it because she was waiting for my father to call while he drives over to Roseburg each night. Talk about hooked. Every single Sunday night, directly after Game of Thrones, at 7pm, as my dad headed out the door (go, go HDTV; HD channels bringing us shows 3 hours earlier!), I’d grab my beat-stick and beat my brother upstairs so my mom and I could watch the Killing without interruptions. Aside from commercials, of course.

So now we’re in the beginnings of season two for both shows, wondering how each show will turn out. Well, unless you’ve read A Clash of Kings. Then you have a pretty good idea of how Game of Thrones will be turning out, because, compared to other books-to-television (even movies!), HBO has thus far liked keeping the episodes close to the books. Yeah, yeah, I know the current episodes are at three, but that’s the very beginning! Now let’s view both episodes of both shows:

Game of Thrones: What Is Dead May Never Die

Sunday night we learned that Tyrion Lannister has a really f***ed up plan to figure out who he can trust on the Small Council. I highly enjoy Tyrion Lannister in both the books and the show:  he’s the only Lannister I can even consider liking. Jamie seems a bit daft; all brawn, no brains. Cersei is a grade A beeyotch; and her children… We don’t see much of Myrcella and Tommen Lannister and they seem docile, so not really of consequence. And then there’s Joffrey. Oh, dear, innocent Joffrey… That’s all sarcastic of course. There are two story characters that have thus far been written down that I absolutely hate: Penelope Hayes, from The Luxe series and Joffrey Baratheon/Lannister. Lestat from Interview with a Vampire is a close third; mostly because he’s just a coward.

We also see Lady Catelyn Stark visit ‘King’ Renly Baratheon (we all know who the true king is… Robb Stark, King of the North!) to try and convince him to make an alliance. Oh my, everyone but Renly and Cat are immediately up in arms over who is king and who is not. Lady Cat’s just like “Guys, chill. When the war’s over, we have time for titles.” Renly sits there and nods, agreeing with her. “Yeah, listen to Lady Stark, she’s cool.”

Let me just say that I’m in league with most people: the Starks are awesome. Arya is, of course, my favorite. She’s a bad ass young girl who wants to be a knight. But in this episode, we see a chaotic mess of Yoren and his recruits being slaughtered by gold cloaks. Of course, it can’t always be exact to the word in the book, but I can dream, can’t I?  But we see Arya, Gendry, and several other young recruits escaping and then getting caught again.  The read between these two events is cleaner, I’ll admit. But in the show, I really liked the scene where Arya protects Gendry with her cunning. She points the gold cloaks to another boy that they had already killed because he had been injured.

Another big thing in this episode, we find out that the Greyjoy’s are plotting against Robb. More political intrigue! Theon Greyjoy is trying just so hard to prove himself to his father; you can’t help but feel sorry for him. Her father gives him crap for ‘being a Stark’ and Theon says, “Wait a minute… You sent me off to them and you treat me like trash when I come back to you?” Yet, we later see Robb reading a message from Theon, telling Robb about his father’s plan to take Winterfell.

I’m definitely looking forward to next week and seeing how each story line pans out. I’m also planning on reading further in the book, so I candiscuss more deeply what has happened both in the book and the show, and the differences between.

The Killing: Ogi Jun 

In this episode, one thing stands out: Holder hadn’t known that the Richmond photo had been faked. Now, I’m a bit unsure if this is true or not, to be honest. For all we know, he’s messing with Linden to keep her off his trail. But then, why would he show her the actual backpack that was dropped on the Larsen’s doorstep? I don’t know. Holder and this whole corrupted cop theme  is interesting. I can’t help but wonder if Holder is truly innocent or not and where the corruption is stemming from.

Darren Richmond is visited by the mayor and Richmond draws out of the political race. On top of this, we find out that the police have a new lead: A young Polish man who they believe have something to do with the Polish mob, Stan Larsen’s business, and therefore something to do with Rosie Larsen’s murder. They find him through a tattoo image which was in the bike mirror caught in Rosie’s film.

Which ties into Stan Larsen’s days in the Polish mob.  Linden, who is friends with a FBI agent who specializes in the mob, goes to this man and finds out that in order to get out of the mob, Stan Larsen had to kill a man, around 20 years before the events of the show. Pictures of the murder indicate that the man Stan killed was shot in the head, and then tied up and thrown in the back of a car trunk. To see if the woman who had been the murdered man’s girlfriend any information, Linden and Holder track her down while searching for the young man with the tattoo. The woman, upon hearing why the detectives were there, says “Stan Larsen got what he deserved.”

This leads me to believe that the young man is definitely tied in with the mob and that the mob does, in fact, have something to do with Rosie’s murder. At first, I had thought it had been tied to the political war between Richmond and Adams. That Adams, or someone higher, had planted the murder of Rosie Larsen on Richmond to make him look bad. We will not know until later on in the season. And hopefully we’ll know who killed Rosie Larsen at the end of this season.

Leave a Reply

